comment 0

Books I Wish Were Real: Career Planning + Having Kids Edition

At the urge of a Go Blog Social conference speaker, I’m going to start writing about whatever is authentic to me right now, and stop waiting for that right moment to write that oh so hot industry-related blog post. Ergo today’s blog post is about something that has been on my mind: careers and children.

Where are all the books about career planning before having a kid?

When researching  the financial and career aspects of having a kid, I’m totally at a loss. All the books out there are about the hatching and post-birth experience. They’re all from the viewpoint of “OMG this is amazing you’re pregnant right now so let’s get this stuff done and write up that dream baby room shopping list.”

But there aren’t any books for where I am,  from the viewpoint of “OMG what do I need to be doing right now, 1-2 years before having a kid, with my finances and career?”

What I really need is a couple of great authors to write books about preparing to have children.

Books I wish were real so that I could read them right now

What I’m really looking for are books with titles like:

  • 101 things you need to do 2 years in advance of having kids
  • How to turn your awesome job into a flexible job to help you achieve work-life balance
  • But what if I change my mind last-minute and want to be a stay at home mom? And other things you need to prepare financially for
  • How to have the discussion with your spouse about who works from home
  • When to change careers to have a job that lets you focus on your passions and your family
  • It’s OK for feminists to be a stay at home mom or career driven mom—or anything in between
  • 37 ways to make sure your job is ready for your maternity leave (and won’t be calling you while you’re out)
  • Ways you can get your body in shape right now to reduce the horribly painful side of childbirth
  • 50 reasons why should travel internationally with children

But for as much as I can see, those books aren’t out there.  The books on the shelf come from the perspective that it is every woman’s dream to be pregnant and going with the flow of “The Glow.” These books leave out career planning advice and finances.  It seems like the only time careers and kids come up are when women with elementary-aged kids have midlife crises.

The birth of this blog post series

So I decided to chronicle my experiences,  research, and decisions over the next few years as I prepare myself,  my husband, and my career for having a child.  I hope the blog posts resonate with others thinking of growing a family, and maybe one day I’ll write a book about how to prepare a career, family finances, and individuals for having kids.

Leave a Reply

